To dress up, or not to dress up

Thursday, October 3, 2013
Will you dress up for Halloween? What will you be?

Dressing up for Halloween was awesome when I was little. Who doesn’t love wearing crazy clothes and makeup at night? When I got older and did that stuff every night at the bar, it got kind of boring. I mean, Halloween costumes for adult women (or teens) are really just excuses to put boobs on display and attract sexual attention. I did that on my own, without the need of a holiday. I think the last time I dressed up as an adult was when I worked at a department store and just wanted to wear my prom dress again (I was a fairy princess). No, wait, I dressed up my first Halloween in England (last Halloween before I had a kiddo). I was a zombie pilot. No boobs in sight.

Now, though, I’m an adult with a kid. A kid who is just discovering the fun of Halloween. This will technically be his 4th Halloween, but only his third time dressing up (he was 6 weeks old the first go around, so we just popped him in a jack o’lantern sleeper and called it good). When he was 1, he was a panda and last year he was a velociraptor. This year, I’m leaning towards firefighter since he’s crazy about anything to do with rescues. Dressing him up in cute costumes is FUN.

We’ve kicked around the idea of family costumes. Colt is a huge Curious George fan, so husband could be The Man in the Yellow Hat for our little monkey. Or we could be the Griffins from Family Guy: Peter, Lois and Stewie. I’ve always thought the crayon idea was cute (Mom is yellow, Dad is blue, Baby is green). And the parents who went as Wild Things for their kid dressed as Max? Winning.

But honestly? I don’t think I’m that organized. Plus I’m lazy. I don’t really want to dress up to take him trick or treating. I want to wear comfy clothes – which for me in Texas means flip flops and maybe a hoodie (depends on if it dips below 70 that night…brrrr). My husband and I don’t do adult Halloween parties, so there’s really no need to dress up. I’m fine with leaving the dressing up to the kids.

Leave a Reply

