Freedom…crap, now I have to come up with something

Saturday, October 12, 2013
Free post

According to NaBloPoMo, I get to write about whatever I want today! So I’m going to write about something that annoys me.

BLIND SHARING. It’s a real problem, folks, and it’s reaching epidemic proportions.

Sometimes, I feel like the Truth Police on Facebook. Maybe it’s my suspicious and cynical nature, but I am constantly Googling stuff to check for accuracy. And more often than I like, I find inaccuracies. It frustrates me to no end that people will just blindly share crap without checking the facts.

That’s how people get all whipped up into a frenzy over nothing. It’s how myths are started and perpetuated. And it makes us look stupid. Take this recent example:

amendment28idiot

Since I took this screenshot, the number of shares has jumped to over 46k. That means there are over 46,000 people who don’t know jack about the Constitution. It took me about 30 seconds to confirm that there is no 28th Amendment. 30 SECONDS OR LESS, PEOPLE, and you won’t look like an idiot. We won’t even get into how an amendment like this has jack to do with the Affordable Care Act, since Congress is in fact required to use it…

When it comes to the Internet, I live by the code of GTS: Google That Shit.

Leave a Reply

