FALLing in love. Get it?

Monday, October 14, 2013
Tell us about falling in love: what does it feel like?

Yes, I realize this prompt is for Monday and I’m publishing it on Sunday. That’s because I got somethin’ special for tomorrow and needed my free post from today. Also, it’s my blog so I can do what I want.

Soooo, how did we go from talking about leaf piles and pie to discussing something like falling in love? I get it, fall has multiple meanings so the creators were being clever. But seriously!

The last time I fell in love was September 14, 2010. That’s right, when my baby boy was born (Aaaawwwww). Actually, that’s a lie. I fall in love with that kid every day. Every day, he makes my heart melt and feel like it’s going to explode, all at the same time. It’s a little scary, the intensity of my emotions. I’m not the most even-keeled of people, but when it comes to my baby I’m capable of anything. If someone messed with him…grrrr.

The thing about this is it’s not scary to fall in love with him. When you fall in love with a partner, it’s always a little scary (or a lot scary) putting yourself out there. What if they reject you? What if they say hell no? But with Colt, I’ll never stop loving him. There is nothing that boy could do that would make me stop loving him. I may not like it if he ends up being a serial killer, but I’ll still love him. So there’s a safeness to this love.

I’m so blessed to be the mother of this sweet little boy. Even when I want to sell him to the circus, I still love him. That’s why he’s still with us today.

Colt3rdBirthdayPic

Leave a Reply

